Banoffee Tarts


This recipe is a modified version of one given to me by the culinary goddess Michelle Horton.  I know personally that she modified a version of a full-sized banoffee pie by BFF Lyndsey Ryerson . . . basically, versions of it have been around because it is so good!

Many facebook friends have asked for the recipe for a while now . . . enjoy!

Ingredients:

1 can sweetened condensed milk

1 pint heavy whipping cream

powdered sugar

2 bananas

8 Pre-made mini graham cracker crusts

1 egg white (optional)

Approximate cook and prep time: 4 hours

Step One:

Remove the label on the can on sweetened condensed milk and fully submerge in a pot of water.  Be sure it is covered in at least one inch of water, so the can doesn’t explode.  (I’ve never had that happen, but I’ve heard rumor.) 

Bring to a boil, cover and simmer for three hours, occasionally checking to make sure the can is fully submerged.  This will turn it to yummy, gooey, dulce de leche.

Step Two:

Remove with tongs as can will be very hot. 

Open up and put into container and whip gently until smooth.

Step Three (optional):

Egg wash the graham cracker crusts with egg white and bake for 10 minutes at 350 degrees or until golden brown.  This will give the crust more stability and crispness.

Step Four:

Add heavy whipping cream to stand mixer and begin to mix on high-speed.  The whipping cream will begin to thicken, begin to add powdered sugar to taste.  Whip until sugar is mixed and the whipped cream is peaky.

(no picture, I know, I’m lame.)

Step Five:

At this point you could put the whipped cream and dulce de leche into frosting bags or go ghetto *frugal* like me and put them into two separate gallon Ziplocs.

Trim off the corner of the dulce de leche bag and fill the tart crusts.

(Ok, I know what this picture looks like, but get those images out of your head because this is sooooo yummy!)

Step Six:

Top with three sliced banana rounds.

(no picture, lame again.)

Step Seven:

Trim corner of whipped cream bag and top with whipped cream.  Add a decorative banana slice on top.  I like to make it jaunty!  And I like to say jaunty!

Some people like to put chocolate slivers, coffee granules, cinnamon.  I like mine simple and served with a side of coffee and banangrams.  It is EXTREMELY rich, so one tart is more than enough per person.  Enjoy!

About pageturnershollow

My life is in constant motion and sometimes I just need to take a moment to breathe. I have learned to laugh at the hardest parts or my life and move on with optimism. Most days around here end with laughter.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Banoffee Tarts

  1. Amy says:

    Ooohh..let’s have bonaffee tarts asap. And for the record, I could totally eat more than one ;)

  2. chefshellina says:

    I don’t think these could look any more adorable or delicious- I LOVE the idea of single-serving desserts! Thanks for sharing- great post. :)

  3. Recipe Chefs says:

    Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing this post. I really enjoy reading your blog. Feel free to check out our recipes.

  4. Thanks guys! I have more recipes I’ve been planning to post, they will come.

Leave a Reply

