Demystifying Crepes


I recently decided for the price that I was currently shelling out for crepes, I needed to knuckle down and learn to make them at home.  The whole family loves them and I knew that the ingredients were simple.  Now I have a confession to make.  I can make a waffle, I am a master at french toast.  But when it comes to the simple “American” pancake, I am a failure.  I get flip happy, want to flip them too early or get distracted and flip them too late.  For years, pancakes have been my husband’s job.  I’m sure I could have mastered them at this point, but in my opinion, they weren’t worth it.  To me the “American” pancake is just . . . meh.

But I love what most of the rest of the world refers to as a pancake — crepes!  Give them to me savory or sweet, I love them!  I prefer to eat them with butter, sugar and cinnamon or butter, powdered sugar and lemon.  But, you could load that baby full of spinach, mushrooms, egg, cheese, ham, whatever and I am happy too!  I decided with all the money I have put into the crepe industry over the years, I should learn how to make them at home.  And so I did.  Here are the steps and pictures to prove it.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cups milk
  • 2 tbs. oil (vegetable or olive both seem to work fine.)
  • 1/4 tbs. salt.

Ready to go!

 

That’s it!!  My second time around I added a bit of vanilla extract for sweet crepes, but it’s certainly not necessary.

Step One:

  • Add all the “wet” ingredients to a bowl, leaving room for the dry ingredients.

    Milk, Eggs & Oil

Step Two:

  • Insert the flour into a sifter and add slowly to the bowl while whisking.  This will prevent you from having lumps and putting everything into a blender.

My OLD sifter

Smooth, no lumps

 

  • You want the batter to be extremely thin, not at all like traditional American pancakes.  If it seems to thick, you can add a bit more milk.

Step Three:

  • Chill for at least one hour.  I have chilled it overnight for crepes the next morning as well.
Gogurt plug!

Step Four:

 
  • While waiting play some pirate magnet poetry.
Aaaarrrrggh!

 

 

  • And assure your dog that you’re not crazy for taking pictures of food.
Mr. LeBeau peeks from behind the fridge

Step Five:

 
  • Heat a non-stick pan on medium heat.  I prefer using a 12″ skillet, but it’s up to you, depending on how big you want the crepes.

 

. . .

Step Six:

  • Butter the pan gently.  Your first crepe might be a little oily and may have to be tossed out, that’s perfectly fine.

 

Step Seven:

  • Pour enough batter in to THINLY coat the bottom of the pan.  For a 12″ skillet I use a 1/3 cup.  I rotate the pan to get it to coat the bottom evenly.

Calphalon plug!

 

  • You will wait for the crepe to appear dry on top and the edges to curl away from the pan a bit.  Usually between 45 seconds and 1 minute 30 seconds.

    . . .

 

Step Eight:

  • You can use a rubber spatula to gently run under the crepe and flip it.  Apparently it’s tradition to flip the first crepe up in the air with a coin.  I’m not there, yet.  🙂

Yummy! You might want to let it brown a bit more if you want it more crispy.

 

Step Ten:

Enjoy!

. . .

 

I’m still learning, I have only made them a few times but I found them to be really easy!  Try them at home, you won’t be disappointed.

About pageturnershollow

My life is in constant motion and sometimes I just need to take a moment to breathe. I have learned to laugh at the hardest parts or my life and move on with optimism. Most days around here end with laughter.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Entrees, Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Demystifying Crepes

  1. Mom says:

    It looks good. good work

  2. I’m going to try this later this week. Ham, goat cheese and spinach crepes sound like an awesome “on the patio” dinner.

Leave a Reply

