DIY Laundry Soap


. . .

I have come to the conclusion that Little Kidlet has very sensitive skin.  It seems to dry out and turn red very easily and with the latest purchase of All with Oxy his knees, elbows and cheeks turned very red and chapped looking. 

After doing some research  I was really frightened by some of the chemicals that go into making both the detergent and the fabric softener.  So the Tide, Tide Stain Release Tabs and Bounce Bar all went into the garbage and we made our out laundry soap!  It’s a fraction of the cost (seriously, a FRACTION), leaves our clothes smelling great and LK’s rashes have vanished!  (Some A&D under the jammies at night helped, too.) 

Anyway, I liked this method so much I put up  a very easy clothesline as well and I’m running the dryer way less as well.  (Great for the lady who hates static cling!)  Apparently, this is a very common method and one our mothers and grandmothers may have used on us. 

Speaking of, found this in The Index News microfilms from the UW archives, circ. 1907.

What You’ll Need:

  • 1 Bar of Fels Naptha  (Note: while Fels Naptha is pretty eco-friendly, non-toxic and basically harmless, it isn’t vegan.  If you are looking for vegan-friendly alternative, I’d suggest Dr. Bronners, which is a little pricer.  I might give it a try.)
  • 1 Cup of Washing Soda (Not Baking soda, though both are an alkaline base that neutralizes acids, washing soda is more caustic, therefore more suitable for cleaning laundry.  It cannot be used for baking.)

Optional:

  • Dryer Balls (This will help with static cling and reduce drying time.  Do not use tennis balls, they have chemicals in them that will leech into your clothing.  You could do what I did and purchase them from Pepperjack Homes and buy local and homemade!)

Also, I list Ace Hardware as the link here, I bought all but the optional items at Fred Meyer for cheaper, they just haven’t gotten on the website bandwagon very well and kind of sucks.  😛

Step One:

Shred the bar of fels naptha with an ordinary cheese grater.

. . .

Step Two:

Mix with Washing Soda and Borax.

. . .

Step Three:

Blend together in a blender or food processor (I used my Magic Bullet . . . “just press it one . .  two . . . threeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee . . . times.” Oh, come on!  You’ve seen the infomercial!)

Step Four (optional)

Add 20-30 drops of essential oils.

. . .

That’s it!  You’re done!  If you do a double batch, it will last you a long time!  I even gave some to a neighbor!

I have a small jar to the left that I add the oils with so I can change scents. The old glass milk jug to the right has my vinegar/essential oils mixture.

Add 1/2 to 1 tablespoons for a HE washer, 1 -2 tablespoons for a standard washer. 

Use vinegar (you can add essential oils to that too) in the fabric softener compartment of your washer or you can soak a natural sponge or rag with it and toss it in with your clothes in the dryer.  They will not smell like vinegar, I assure you.

Enjoy!  Soon to come: Blog on the super easy cupcakes and toppers for BK’s birthday and installing the new clothesline.  I’m on a mini break before summer quarter . . . yay!

About pageturnershollow

My life is in constant motion and sometimes I just need to take a moment to breathe. I have learned to laugh at the hardest parts or my life and move on with optimism. Most days around here end with laughter.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Climate Change, DIY, Environmental Stewardship, Family, Green, Kids, Kids, Parenting, Photography, Recipes, Sustainability, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DIY Laundry Soap

  1. Amy says:

    this soap smells so fresh! makes me happy when i smell it.

  2. Pingback: Easy DIY Clothesline | Page Turners Hollow

  3. Pingback: Laundry Soap Revisited | Page Turners Hollow

Leave a Reply

