The Best Pico de Gallo


At a friend's recent birthday, the ladies were grubbin'! - Courtesy of Karolyn Wall

Ok, I have decided that rather than continue to feed fish to the people, I’m going to give you all a fishing rod!  This is my recipe (not sure if it is exclusively mine, just the one I have used for years.) for pico de gallo.  It doesn’t matter how large the batch is I make of this stuff, if I take it to a party it is gone in seconds.  I have no step-by-step pictures because I never thought about putting in my blog, since it’s something I have done for years, but so many people have been asking, so here you go! — Just remember if you live in the PNW like I do it’s not going to taste nearly as good out of season when the tomatoes are shipped to you from warmer destinations.

What you’ll need:

  • 5 large red tomatoes – diced
  • 5 heirloom tomatoes – diced (I like to pick ones with a lot of color and flavor like Golden Jubilee or any of the black or zebra varieties) – These can be pretty expensive, but if you’re buying in season, they are worth it!  If not, just buy 10 large tomatoes of whatever your local grocer or farmers market has on sale.
  • Approximately 10 mature green onions – diced (be sure to use the white root end, as that has the majority of the flavor!)
  • 2 jalapeno – cored and diced small  –Remember it is the seeds of the jalapeno that hold all of the heat, so you can add as much of the innards of the pepper as you want.  For this batch I find that 1/2 the seeds of one jalapeno is palatable to most, you can adjust based on your needs.
  • 2 medium to large limes – roll them under your hand on the counter before you cut into them to maximize their juice!
  • Salt to taste

Step One:

Dice tomatoes and add to large glass or ceramic bowl.  (Make sure there is room, because the tomatoes will juice out after it sits.)

Step Two:

Dice onions and add.

Step Three:

Dice jalapeno and add with appropriate amount of seeds and add.

* I would personally wear gloves when handling the jalapeno, especially if you are have little ones at home whose sensitive skin could react to the oils on your hands.  If you are not a fan you can neutralize the oils with lemon juice.  I’m just saying once I made this without gloves and I was still breastfeeding my youngest.  There are places that pepper oils just shouldn’t go.  *shudder.*

Step Four

Stir all of your added ingredients and squeeze the juice of two limes into the bowl.  Add salt and stir, taste and add any ingredient you think is lacking.

Step Five

Let the salsa sit at least one hour (overnight is awesome) before serving.  You may need to barricade the doors, but it will be ok.

Step Six

Release the hounds to attack the waiting masses and eat all the salsa yourself.  Yum!

About pageturnershollow

My life is in constant motion and sometimes I just need to take a moment to breathe. I have learned to laugh at the hardest parts or my life and move on with optimism. Most days around here end with laughter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Best Pico de Gallo

  1. Donna says:

    Okay it really IS the best pico de gallo ever!!! But it tastes better when you make it. ;o) Tee hee

  2. I imagine it taste better when I make it while you sit at the bar and drink a diet coke while visiting with me????? ❤

  3. that is supposed to be *tastes* better. Was that my redneck showing?? ;o)~

    • Sally Anne says:

      Imagine! I’ve always made pico de gallo like this too! Except I also mince in a clove or two of garlic because I’m a nut for garlic. Lately, I’ve also grated a little fresh ginger into it and a few drops of sesame oil for a bit of an Asian tilt.

  4. Hmmm, garlic. I am a nut for garlic as well. I will have to try. I have been also toying with the idea of putting some cabbage in, chopped really fine for some added crunch.

Leave a Reply

