Quick Make Over For Free! (Almost)


I don’t know about you guys, but when I go into hardware stores I always check the mismatch paint.  It’s sold at $5/gal. and someone’s uh-oh might be your just right.  If I like the color and I know I have a room to paint or a project to do eventually, I just tuck it away.  I’m the same with picture frames.  If I see a damaged one I can repair for cheap or something I like on clearance, I will buy it and tuck it away.  This is how my living room and front entry got made over.  While I’m still working on the living room, my entry way was done in a few hours thanks to a few cheap items I had gotten along the way.  See?

This is our entry way/mudroom. Since we moved in, it had been looking blah. I had put a variety of pictures below the light, but none of them took.

And now . . .

We painted it a muted gray/blue (same color as the accent wall in our living room.)

Used some frames I had picked up on sale here and there (This one had a small ding in it at Borders.)

 – The art piece above is called “Something’s Missing” and it’s signed by Justin Hillgrove.

This from was $2 on clearance at Joann's - ha! I can see me!

All of the art is from this year's folklife . . .

This one is one of my favorites.

– It says “Safe haven from our storms,” by soopajdelux

I did have to pay for this stuff, gradually.  I’m not saying I found it all on the side of the road (that’s another blog, because I swear I’m a borderline dumpster diver).  What I am saying is that I picked up here and there, not knowing how it would call to me.  Then one afternoon . . . it did!

About pageturnershollow

My life is in constant motion and sometimes I just need to take a moment to breathe. I have learned to laugh at the hardest parts or my life and move on with optimism. Most days around here end with laughter.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Art and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Quick Make Over For Free! (Almost)

  1. Karolyn says:

    I had some “ooh” & “aw” moments here! I gotta come over and see the new entry way!

  2. Sally Anne says:

    You are full of surprises! Such whimsy!

Leave a Reply

