I Yarn For You!


Ok, enough with the puns.  It’s been awhile since my last blog, because I’ve been spring cleaning (a little late) and crafting my butt off, among other excuses.  I have been seeing some yarn wrapped art lately in some circles and I thought it was the perfect plan for some wood letters I had at the house.

Photo By Kris Sawka

When LK was born, Niece Kidlet decided that she was going to hand craft his name out of wood.  She took on the project at home with just her Dad.  She isn’t in woodshop, it wasn’t for a grade, she’s just that awesome!

She left the wood raw when she gave it to me, so I could paint it or do whatever and they were just so freaking cool, I didn’t know what to do with it.  That’s when all the leftover yarn comes in.  I’ve been  wrapping them in the evenings as I unwind and it’s coming out really nice.

There is the raw letter at the top

Some of the nice textures and colors

I’ll show you some of the letters:

. . .

. . .

. . .

I did a lot of research online on how to do this, but most didn’t apply because people were covering cardboard or extremely thin letters, these ones are at least 1/2″ thick.  So I decided to wing it, but I did set out with a few goals:

1. No gluing (I wanted this to be all hand done and soft, call me crazy.)

2. One continuous line. (That didn’t happen, because I wanted things in a variety of directions and some things had to be reinforced, mainly corners.)

3. Even if the colors matched, I wanted each letter to be different.

I think they all turned out really unique and WAY better than a paint job!

Here are some tips:

  • Start at what you think is the hardest point.  (Like the center of an “A”, or the cross of a “T”)  That way if it looks really bad, chances are you’ll be going over it with another layer.
  • Add another layer, if needed!  That way you have them wrapped around the edges as best as possible!
  • Keep your uglies at the back!  Make sure you’re making the front nice and pretty, keep all your random crossovers to the back of the letter.
  • Don’t try to be perfect.  The point of this is to look homemade and imperfect.
  • Have fun!
About pageturnershollow

My life is in constant motion and sometimes I just need to take a moment to breathe. I have learned to laugh at the hardest parts or my life and move on with optimism. Most days around here end with laughter.
This entry was posted in Art, DIY, Kids and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

