Easy Apple Cider


. . .

Well, despite the sweltering (to me) 80 degree weather, BK had been begging all week for some apple cider!  I think he inherited my love for autumn and me putting in movie after movie of family friendly Halloween movies didn’t help any, either!

Well, thanks to some rain clouds and some nice wind, tonight I thought I could fathom the idea of a hot cider after dinner.  We make this every Fall/Winter, but this is definitely the earliest I’ve ever done it and the first time I let BK help.

I usually throw in what looks good (except for cloves, I hate cloves) so these amounts are just an estimate.

  • 1 whole lemon (sliced)
  • 1 whole orange (sliced)
  • 1/2-1 teaspoon allspice (depending on your preference)
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 1/4-1/2 teaspoon fresh grated nutmeg
  • 4 quarts apple juice

After years of spooning all of this out I recommend using a pot with a steamer insert and investing in some cheesecloth and string.

Put sliced citrus into steamer basket of pot.

In a square of cheesecloth put cinnamon sticks, all spice and zested nutmeg and tie off into a little pouch and toss in to steamer insert of pot.

Pour in juice and simmer on low for 1-2 hours.  You can choose to simmer it longer, but remove the pouch, as the cinnamon can get bitter.

Put your feet up and enjoy any of the following cheesy fall family movies while willing the leaves to turn outside:

Halloweentown (any of the first three)

The Good Witch (both of them)

Pooh’s Heffalump Halloween

It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown

Casper

. . .

Enjoy!

. . .

(Know of any other family friendly fall/Halloween movies?  Send them my way!)

About pageturnershollow

My life is in constant motion and sometimes I just need to take a moment to breathe. I have learned to laugh at the hardest parts or my life and move on with optimism. Most days around here end with laughter.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Family, Kids, Recipes, Seasons, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

