Bitten By the Con Bug


Storm Trooper I caught waiting for the bathroom. How long must THAT take to get out of?

At first, I started out small.  One little Sunday pass to PAX . . . just a little bit to try it out.  I thought I could handle it.  I went to panels, I got Wil Wheaton’s autograph, I chatted with Felicia Day . . . that’s when things started to slip from my grasp.

Then came geekgirlcon.  Two days surrounded by my fellow geeky ladies, no big deal right?  I went to a panel hosted by the authors of Whedonistas and saw lots of awesome cosplay . . .   I swore I wasn’t addicted, that I was just using cons recreationally.

Then, I went to Steamcon last weekend and let me tell you this girl is addicted!  Blogs?  Screw blogs!  I’m going to a panel about steampunking Harry Potter or making your own Storm Trooper outfit out of your old graduation gown and a bit of string!  (Ok, if they really had that, that’d be awesome!)  Anyway, here are some of my pictures from my recent convention adventures:

The crappy picture I got of Wil Wheaton because I was too chicken to take another one.

The sign Amy made for his dice cup!

Pound it.

I love people in cosplay doing mundane things!

The wonderful ladies at geekgirlcon

And the one man who dared to venture with them . . .

And now for the Steamcon gallery.  I gotta tell you, the pictures are a small fraction of what I saw there, and they don’t do it justice.  It was so amazing that I slapped my husband for going the last two years without me!  Never again!  Tickets are already bought for next year!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About pageturnershollow

My life is in constant motion and sometimes I just need to take a moment to breathe. I have learned to laugh at the hardest parts or my life and move on with optimism. Most days around here end with laughter.
This entry was posted in Adventures, Celebrities, General Geekiness, Pacific Northwest, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

