Make Your Own Spider-man Birthday Invitations


. . .

We are approaching Big Kidlet’s 4th birthday this year and he requested a Spiderman theme.  I like making the invitations every year and this year was no different.  (Last year his came out of a box because I was weeks away from graduation and I just wasn’t happy with it.)  I was so pleased with the results I thought I would post the template and instructions on here for anyone who wanted to partake of it.

What you will need:

  • 8.5 x 11 cardstock in royal/navy blue
  • 8.5 x 11 cardstock in red (both are usually in primary color stacks.)
  • 8.5 x 11 cardstock in a light color such as cream, white, light gray.
  • Some type of spiderweb paper for the background.  You can usually find this by 12 x 12 sheet at your local craft store.  The paper shown in this demonstration was purchased at JoAnn’s Crafts on clearance for $0.50 a sheet, then cut down to size .
  • A Fiskars large squeeze punch (SQL-7424), 2″ across, not necessary, but I personally wouldn’t want to hand cut out all the Spiderman faces.
  • Acid free crafting glue stick
  • White paint pen/markers for crafts and fabrics. I really liked Elmer’s Brand.
  • Thin black ribbon
  • Scissors or a paper-cutter
  • Documents I have attached
  • A home printer

Step One:

l would start by cutting the navy paper in quarters, making the dimensions 4.25″ x 5.5″.  (You could also buy pre-cut card stock, but I was making this with what I already had on hand.)

Step Two:

Cut the 12 x 12 spiderweb paper into dimensions that are 1/2″ smaller than the navy backdrop.  In this instance that would be 3.50″ x 4.75″.

Step Three:

Glue the spiderweb paper onto the navy cardstock evenly.   I eyeball this.

. . .

Step Four:

Save the attached word document, print it out on the red 8.5″ x 11″ paper.  You will need one for every invite, there is 16 per page.  I saved the leftover strips at the margins for later steps, just to make use of all the paper, but if you are a messy cutter, it’s ok.

This is the word document:

https://pageturnershollow.files.wordpress.com/2011/05/spiderman4.docx

Step Five:

Paint the eyes of the Spiderman faces white.  You will need to do two coats.  I thought about doing white paper eyes and gluing them on, but that seemed even more time-consuming. 

Step Six:

Use the Fiskars punch to punch out the Spiderman faces cleanly.  This is really satisfying to me that it’s so easy!!

. . .

Step Seven:

I took the scrap strips of red paper and glued them horizontally across the middle of the paper.  They are 1/2″ wide if you need to make more.  I trimmed them to fit the paper after gluing.

. . .

Step Eight:

Glue the thin ribbon on top of the red strip, using the same method.

. . .

Step Nine:

Glue on the Spiderman face as pictured below:

. . .

Step Ten:

Fill out the appropriate information and print out the Powerpoint document below.  You can do it on any color, but I do recommend you do it on a lighter cardstock.  I did mine on some cream color left over from my wedding.

Powerpoint Document:

 https://pageturnershollow.files.wordpress.com/2011/05/dailybugle1.pptx

Step Eleven:

. . .

 

 You’re done!!  That’s it!!

. . .

 

 I put each child’s name that was invited at the top of the newspaper and stapled some Spiderman stickers we got at Dollar Tree to each invite to give them each a treat.

 

About pageturnershollow

My life is in constant motion and sometimes I just need to take a moment to breathe. I have learned to laugh at the hardest parts or my life and move on with optimism. Most days around here end with laughter.
This entry was posted in Art, Birthdays, Family, Kids, Kids, Paper Crafting, Parenting, Photography, School, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Make Your Own Spider-man Birthday Invitations

  1. Christine Hargan says:

    great invites, these are the things memories are made of…..
    Happy Birthday K

  2. Amy says:

    these are awesome, you should think of ways to alter the template to fit another theme 🙂

  3. Victoria says:

    I’ve been looking fro a great idea for my son’s 3rd b-day (who is a huge Spiderman fan) and I just found it! Thank you so much for sharing 🙂

  4. OMG! best spiderman invitation idea EVER! thank you so much for sharing!

  5. suzmoreton says:

    Were these inexpensive to make? Just out of curosity!
    Thank you and they are very cute!

  6. Ashleigh W. says:

    I am having the same problem as Victoria. The document will not let me make any changes. My email address is abwagner86@yahoo.com. I absolutely love this invitation! I also had to use store bought invites last year and I swore that I wouldn’t do that again. Thank you so much!

  7. Carla says:

    These are awesome!!!! My son is going to love these!

  8. Diana says:

    Thank you Thank you!! You’ve just saved me TONS of time. My son LOVES the invites. THANKS THANKS!

  9. caiden b's mom says:

    Love this! I’ve been trying to come up with something different for 2 weeks now! Please email me the file as well so i can edit with my son’s info…. He is turning 5 the 2oth of this month and party is on the 24th. I’d like to get these done this weekend….

    thanks a bunch!
    uaintrdy@hotmail.com

  10. Lee Ann says:

    LOVE this idea ! It will be perfect for my sons birthday ! I too have had problems with the template / changing the information ~ if it could be emailed to me in a word document that would be perfect !! lac@ureach.com Thank you !!!

  11. Jen says:

    Can you tell me what the fix was to make changes to the Bugle page? My E-mail is jshoeft@internet2go.biz Thank you so much for the idea! I make my kid’s b-day invitations every year and this one is great and easy!

  12. Maria says:

    Great invites! I know a few people have asked for the newspaper template. My email is maria_madrid_07@hotmail.com. Thanks a bunch!

  13. My apologies for such a delayed response! I am in the middle of my last two quarters at UW and things are manic to say the least. My copies of the Spider-man template are located on my old desktop — but they may be retrievable. Let me see if I can wrangle them up and email them to those who requested it. If it is too late, my sincerest apologies!

    • Brandi says:

      This is such a great idea. My son thinks he is Spiderman and these will be perfect for his invites! His b-day is July 9th and hope to send them out ASAP. Is it possible to get your template? My email is adcock27@ gmail.com

  14. ycbhealing@gmail.com says:

    I am defenitely using these for my son’s six bday! They are awesome, great job!

  15. Ashley Binion says:

    If you were able to retrieve the template, could you please send it to me in a word document, jbinion06@yahoo.com. My son has been infatuated with spider-man for the past 4 years. And this year we are having spider-man and venom come to his party to do activitees with the kids.

  16. Brandi says:

    My son’s b-day is in a couple weeeks and this would be perfect! If someone else has a template of this can you please email it to me? adcock27@gmail.com
    Thanks!

  17. i love this its so awesome my son freaked out when he saw these hes going to turn 3 in a few months and he loves spider man he acts like him all the time its so cute if u still have the template can u please send it to me so i can do this for his birthday he would love it thank u soooo much lolipop2120@yahoo.com!!!!!!!

  18. Julie Hally says:

    Hi, I too would like the template emailed to me. I wish I could figure it out on my own!
    My email is julie.hally@yahoo.com

    Thanks so much!
    My son is turning 3 soon and I’d love to use these for his bday party!!!

    Julie Hally

  19. Christy says:

    I love them! but I also cant get to make changes on the newspaper template! can you please email to christy2lali@yahoo.com. Thanks

  20. Shannon says:

    I as well have a little one who adores spiderman right now and would love this invation as well. If someone has the templete can you please email it to me at zzshannonmarie03zz@yahoo.com.

    Thanks so much!!!

  21. Lorena says:

    I loved this! I just made them for my son’s 4th BDay, made a few changes but with your original idea. Thank you so much for sharing. For those making these, I did the spiderman eyes with white out, much easier, only takes one coat!! 🙂

  22. Ronie says:

    Anybody mind emailing the newspaper template,as well as any ideas that worked out well for their little ones spidey day. Thanks ahead!
    thorntonronie@gmail.com

  23. Meike says:

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!! thankssss

  24. Amanda says:

    Those are the cutest Spider man invitations Ive seen! Can you please email them to me so i can use them from my son’s party? Thanks!! mandamaemae17@aim.com

  25. melanie says:

    Do you still have this template available? I’d love to get my hands on it…
    melb777@hotmail.com
    thank you so much!

  26. Useful information. Lucky me I found your web site accidentally,
    and I’m surprised why this accident didn’t happened earlier!

    I bookmarked it.

  27. Mrs. Stacey says:

    THANK YOU VERY MUCH for this! i prefer to do the invites! 🙂 I will do this kind of invitation for my son’s 6th birthday! 🙂

  28. Julie SHilling says:

    can you please email me the bugle template also–joejulie522@verizon.net–Thanks so much!!

  29. Rebeccca says:

    If you were able to retrieve the old document can you send it to me as well? My email is beccamccord@yahoo.com
    Thank you so much. Very cute idea!!!

  30. Heather Beztilny says:

    Fantastic! I love them and my son will love them too!

Leave a comment